Restricted course access for learners in Crimea, Cuba, Iran, North Korea or Syria

For regulatory reasons, you won’t be able to access FutureLearn courses from Crimea, Cuba, Iran, North Korea or Syria. In this post, we explain why and what we’re doing to solve this problem. UPDATE: the restrictions have been lifted.

UPDATE: These restrictions have now been lifted, read more. 

FutureLearn employs US citizens and works with US suppliers and a growing number of US educational institutions. The combination of these things means we have to comply with US sanctions.

These regulations restrict economic and trade activities with four countries and one region identified by the US Office of Foreign Assets Control (OFAC) – Cuba, Iran, North Korea, Syria and the Crimean region.

While we’re working with OFAC to secure licences to allow us to deliver courses in these countries, the process is still ongoing. To avoid falling foul of any compliance issues, we’re temporarily restricting access to our courses in these countries.

To do this, we will check learners’ IP addresses against a list of countries when they sign in or register.

We are very sorry if this change affects you.  We want to reach as many people in the world with high quality learning and are very proud of the role we have played in breaking down barriers to education for people from all backgrounds.

It is a top priority for us to be able to offer learning to everyone, without restriction. For this reason, we are doing everything in our power to speed up this process, in order to be able to offer our services in these countries.

If you believe your access has been restricted in error or if you have any questions, please contact

Category Learning, FutureLearn news

Comments (0)

Comments are closed.